Phase 2 Day 2 VLCD

Weigh-in: 148lbs (-2lbs)

I felt more positive this morning – first I had a great night’s sleep (8.5 solid hours! Unheard of!) and I had lost 2 pounds, though that wasn’t a huge surprise given that I only ate 500 calories yesterday. HCG or no HCG, surely anyone would lose weight if they suddenly dropped 2/3 of their calories?

I wasn’t hungry when I woke up, which was great. I went to work and had half a cup of English breakfast tea. You’re allowed 1 tbsp milk daily (best to use whole, organic milk as it has fewer additives that mess with you), but I don’t like my tea that black, so instead I add 2 tbsp and then drink half the mug.

I was starving by 11:30am though, so when I got home for lunch at 12:30pm I devoured the fish and cabbage stirfry leftovers from dinner last night, all while thinking how funny it was that I was devouring this when I would have usually turned my nose up at it.

Note: I am vegetarian but have lately been trying to eat some fish to help out with protein. This diet is going to force me to eat fish daily, which will be a struggle, and I only like white fish (tilapia, mahi-mahi, halibut). You are allowed seafood like shrimp and crab, but I’m not a fan.

I was super hungry again around 4pm today. I messaged the admin of my Facebook support group about this hunger as most people say they aren’t hungry. She said that I didn’t load properly. Loading on excessive amounts of fat allows that fat to be available to you for energy in the first 4-5 days while the HCG is still kicking in. So not loading enough means that energy is not available to your body, so you’ll be hungry until the HCG is in full gear. I guess I should have stuffed myself even more?! The admin reassured me the hunger should dissipate after the first week, which is usually the roughest for everyone.

I started chocolate delight today though and thought I’d died and gone to heaven! It really does make a huge difference.

I had scrambled eggs (one whole egg and three egg whites are allowed as a vegetarian protein 3-4 times a week so I alternate them with the protein shake for the second protein meal of the day). Served it with a tomato salad for dinner (tomatoes chopped in a dressing made from apple cider vinegar and lemon juice). It was really yummy.

Quote from today’s journal entry:

“Day 2 HCG = seeing the light! 🙂 Have people in town for work that I’m hosting this Thursday and Friday so things will be cray cray but I’m hoping I can make my meals at home so I don’t gain!”

Leave a Reply

